Posted in Uncategorized

This One’s Just For You

Recently, Meghan, our high school freshman, came home from school with the news that her Journalism teacher had decided to guest publish an article she had written in the school newspaper. After congratulations were shared, she and I were discussing some of the journalism assignments she had completed during the semester and how much she was enjoying writing. I was proud to learn that her teacher had encouraged her to join the newspaper staff as a writer next year. What tickled me most about our conversation though was something that I never expected. Towards the end of our conversation, Meghan’s eyes suddenly lit up and she asked me, “Mom, how come I never knew you had a blog?”

She explained that she had been researching online during class for a writing assignment she was working on and had come across my blog in her research. “Mom, it’s a real, live blog with awards and everything! That is so cool! I was reading a few of the articles and my teacher asked me what I had found and I told her I had found a blog my mom wrote.  She thought that was great.”

Then that light disappeared from her eyes and a slight frown crossed her face. “Mom, why did you stop writing? You’re a really good writer. How come you haven’t written in such a long time? You should really start it up again.”

That night as I was getting ready for bed, I thought about our conversation and how excited Meghan had been about my blog. I had been feeling the Lord tugging at me to get back to writing for some time, but couldn’t seem to put my finger on exactly what He wanted me to write. I even had friends praying about it for me. I didn’t know if Meghan’s discovery was a sign, but I took it as a reason to pray about it. I still don’t know what the answer is, but I take comfort that God does. He’s given me a passion for writing and now He’s shared it with my daughter as well. How can I encourage her to use her God-given talents if I don’t use mine? So today’s post is for you, Meghan. Thank you for reminding me to use my gifts. Thank you for being proud of me. I wrote this one just for you. Who knows what will come along next.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

Leave a Reply

