Posted in Being a Mom, Faith, Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Daisy Mae

TODAY’S FORECAST: Cuddly

Some of you have inquired about my absence on the blog and were worried that something had happened with my health that had not allowed me to write. Thank you so much for your concern and I’m so sorry for worrying you; I should have posted something much sooner than today. I am here and actually feeling quite good for as much as Ohio weather has been on a roller coaster the last few weeks. We’ve been fluctuating anywhere from the 40 degree (Fahrenheit) range to the 80 degree range in a single day! Let me tell you, I’m still convinced I could make BIG BUCKS in the meteorology field. These old bones and joints can feel those cold fronts coming a mile away. The “human barometer” is alive and well! 😉

As it always does, change has graced our lives in a number of ways over the past two weeks. First and foremost is the fact that we got a new puppy. Faithful readers meet, Daisy. Daisy, meet faithful readers. 🙂DSC07011

Daisy is a Morkie (a mix between a Yorkie Terrier and a Maltese). She is 2.5 pounds of pure puppy! She chews on everything with her sharp puppy teeth and loves to play tug of war with her rope. She goes wild when you say the word, “Treat” and sleeps in a pink bed with the word, “Princess” on it, which pretty much says it all. 🙂 She’s 11 weeks old and is working on being house-broken.  (She best be giving it an A+ effort too, because I’m getting really tired of following her around with the carpet cleaner!) She’s a total wuss in the rain but it could be because she is just a wee bit spoiled. She wags her little stump of a tail when the kids get home from school and we couldn’t love her much more, despite her ornery and stubborn nature.

After two weeks with Daisy I’m convinced that having a puppy is like having a baby all over again but worse at times. There are no diapers to contain the pee and poop when it doesn’t land outside where it should. Between running to grab her to avoid an inside accident and running to get her outside to the backyard just in time, I’m getting plenty of exercise. While the exercise is good, this Mama is one tired lady at the end of the day. Blogging? Well blogging has had to wait during this baby stage. Mom needs to sleep when the baby sleeps to keep up with her. So yeah, at the moment, creativity will have to wait a little while. It’s funny, by the time Bob gets home from work, instead of hearing about what the kids did I’m usually whining and saying, “Do you know what YOUR dog did today?” He says it reminds him of when the kids were toddlers and getting into all kinds of things and I used to say, “I need five minutes of peace, just five minutes.”

The puppy teething might be even worse. It means utter destruction if you leave a her unsupervised for even just a second. The corner of my new entertainment center took a mild beating when I left her so I could take my own “potty break” the other day. Anything she can get her little mouth around is fair game, including toes, fingers, shoe strings, sandal straps, corners of furniture, strings under the furniture, electrical cords, etc. Bob jokes some days that we’re going to give the people we purchased Daisy from fifty cents on the dollar just to have them take her back. Depending on her degree of stubbornness, it may go from fifty cents, to a quarter, to FREE, to we’ll pay a quarter on the dollar to give her back!!! LOL.

I have to admit that when Jake carries her around and proclaims proudly, “This is my puppy,” or when I overhear Meghan say, “Daisy do you want sissy to take you outside?” my heart melts just a little.  The kids are great with her and surprisingly helpful too. We did make a family pact together that we would all help take care of her; and though there’s been a few expected sighs during this second week, they still get up to feed her or take her out when we ask. Daisy has definitely brought our family closer together and blesses us with her light and energy. Maybe that was God’s intended purpose for her to be in our family. I know he has a purpose for everything, even sharp puppy teeth!!! 🙂

DSC07085

I promise I will write as time allows. I’ll have more news about the changes God is bringing to our life as well as puppy updates, I’m sure. God bless and easy breathing!!! Love and peace until we meet again. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Daisy Mae

    1. Oh sweet lady, I have missed all of you as well. Hoping to do a lot more blogging when the kiddos go back to school. Hugs, warm thoughts and blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

