Posted in Being a Mom, Faith, Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Womanhood

Sparrow Parenting

TODAY’S FORECAST: Lucky

Let’s be honest here, there are times when our parents annoy us and for those of us who are already parents that we in turn annoy our children. Our parents may say or do something that we don’t agree with and then we attribute it to their eccentricities, their age, their issues, their shortcomings. The thing is, sometimes it takes a little perspective to understand why parents do the things that they do. If we as children spent as much time getting to know our parents as we do in questioning why they do the things they do (or did the things they did) we might be able to see them in a whole new light. I’m sure that as parents, we are hoping our children will award us the same opportunity in our future relationships, right?

I was trying to consider what I would comment on in my blog around the commandment that says Honor your father and mother, when I came across this video. Talk about perspective. Go ahead and watch.

Wow. It make you think, doesn’t it? Especially for those of us with aging parents who may need us to repeat some information from time to time. Put yourself in both the young man’s and the father’s shoes. Think about how you currently treat your parents and how you will want to be treated as a parent by your own children in future years.

Consider the following questions in reflection today. I had to think long and hard about them myself. Then, if you have children of your own, think about your children going through the same list pertaining to you. Are there areas that you would like them to answer differently then they would right now? Do you have opportunities to model how that should look with your own parents, in-laws, step-parents?

1.) Do I honor and obey my parents?

2.) Do I respect my brothers and sisters in order to make life easier for my parents?

3.) Do I respect others with lawful authority?

4.) Have I talked back or answered a question in a way that is demoralizing or detrimental to the relationship with my parents?

5.) Do I fail to help at home or to spend time with my family?

6.) Do I blame my parents for my own shortcomings?

7.) Do I bad-mouth my parents, in-laws, siblings, step-parents in front of my own children, other family members or friends?

8.) Have I been impatient or unkind to my parents?

9.) Do I reach out to my parents to offer my help, my love, my company without them having to ask?

10.) Have I asked God to help me forgive my parents for any bad decisions, abuse, alcoholism or abandonment I might have suffered from by their hand during my childhood?

We never know the love of our parents for us until we have become parents.
— Henry Ward Beecher

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

Leave a Reply

