Posted in Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Womanhood

Cuss Control, a Real .Com

TODAY’S FORECAST: Surprised

Well, apparently some of us are just a wee bit passionate on this subject of the Ten Commandments because I received some very ardent emails about exactly which commandments I am planning to cover in my blog,”the Catholic version, the Jewish version or the Protestant version?” I grew up Catholic and now am practicing as a non-denominational Christian, so the ones I’m familiar with are what I’ve committed to memory from my Catholic days. Suffice it to say though, that I’m taking all of my information from Exodus Chapter 20, so the subtle differences in arrangement should be pretty negligible for most of you. When we get to the commandment about keeping the Lord’s day holy, I will be maintaining a Christian perspective on the definition of “sabbath,” so well, there you have it. Hopefully I’ve cleared up any lingering questions about that, but if not, you know where to find me. 🙂

So today’s second commandment is this:

You should not take the name of the Lord Your God in vain.

There is quite a lot of debate about what this commandment meant back in the time of Moses and of Jesus, let alone in our world today. Different religions again claim multiple interpretations, so I’m going to share the interpretation that rings truest to me personally which is the Hillbilly version that says, “Watch yer mouth.” 🙂 Okay, all kidding aside, I honestly think this commandment is meant to command respect for God and His name. I think it means that we should not use His name or any combination of His name in anger, surprise or otherwise. I also think it means that we should mind our swearing, especially if sailors are blushing at our commentary.

Did you know that there is actually a website that addresses the “evils” of swearing? On its home page it actually addresses a whole page of reasons not to swear, and I was surprised to find that none of the reasons cited were even religious. They even have tips to help break your swearing habit. Don’t believe me, check it out! http://www.cusscontrol.com/swearing.html

Anyway, I guess when it comes to this commandment, I believe while it is not completely outdated that it is open to some personal interpretation. I guess my rule of thumb is that if God was standing in front of you, would you be throwing F-bombs His way?

Here’s some things to consider. Reflect on them and pray for God’s guidance, that’s all I can recommend. 🙂

1.) Did I curse or swear?

2.) Did I use God’s name abusively, lightly, carelessly, by blasphemy?

3.) Have I used foul language or jokes?

4.) In conversation, have I passively listened to jokes demeaning to the Church or God’s authority?

God bless and easy breathing all. Have a good weekend!!!

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

3 thoughts on “Cuss Control, a Real .Com

    1. Hannah, thank you so much! I am so encouraged hearing that my blog has been a source of encouragement to you. I hope you are having a great week and am honored that you would think of me and my blog. Thank you and God bless!

Leave a Reply

