Posted in Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Blind As I Am

TODAY’S FORECAST: Blind

Yesterday as we were listening to a local Christian radio station in the car, my kids started singing one of Brandon Heath’s songs called “Jesus in Disguise.” In the chorus of that song, Brandon Heath sings:

Open my eyes as wide as I can, wide as I can

Open my eyes blind as I am, blind as I am

It started me thinking about the blind man in the Gospel of John that Jesus heals. In chapter 9, verses 39-41, after the healing, Jesus speaks to the Pharisees about spiritual blindness.

Jesus said,[a] “For judgment I have come into this world, so that the blind will see and those who see will become blind.”

40 Some Pharisees who were with him heard him say this and asked, “What? Are we blind too?”

41 Jesus said, “If you were blind, you would not be guilty of sin; but now that you claim you can see, your guilt remains.

In this chapter the Pharisees were not only confronted with evidence that Jesus was real, but they actually spoke to him. They taught and preached about God and alleged they knew how the people could be redeemed, but when confronted with the truth, they refused to believe it. It’s similar to an addict who can’t get clean. When an addict is confronted in an intervention by his family and friends, he is provided with truth from them; likewise he is presented with evidence of his addiction but still, he refuses to accept it.

Jesus wants and needs our eyes, hearts and minds to be open to His truth. He wants us to rid ourselves of our “spiritual blinders” and come to Him ready to make Him the center of our lives. If we don’t, then are we any better than the Pharisees who were blinded by ambition, power and position? We have to ask Jesus to help us to identify our own spiritual blinders and to help us to remove them from our lives. No doubt we will fail, but in failing we know we are trying and in trying we are keeping Him as the central focus. That is the place where we can begin to form a real relationship with Him. One where compassion, mercy and grace can do their best work.

So what are these spiritual blinders? I believe that they are anything that prevents us from keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus. It could be food, addiction, money, control, guilt, anger, self-image, trust, attitudes, prejudices, habits, anything that causes us to turn away from being a committed follower of Christ and believing in the fulfilment of His promises.

Lord, today I come to you asking for Your forgiveness and mercy for my blindness. “Open my eyes wide as I can, blind as I am.” Remove anything that is a spiritual blinder in my life. Help me to see You and Your love clearly and to be able to reflect my belief in You in all that I say, think and do. Help me not to do as the Pharisees did in ignoring Your truth. I ask all this in Your precious name. Amen.

Watch the video of Brandon Heath’s “Jesus in Disguise” by clicking on the video below.

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Blind As I Am

Leave a Reply

