Posted in Being a Friend, Being a Mom, Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Womanhood

Faith In The “Love Fern”

TODAY’S FORECAST: Faithful

I am not a green thumb, far from it. In fact, I have a black thumb, meaning that every plant I try to tend to ends up dead as a doornail! My mom will give me a snippet of a plant she’s had around for the last 30 or so years and tell me it’s the heartiest plant and that I can’t kill it, but I always do. I don’t know what it is, vegetation just doesn’t seem to like me. I wonder if during spring, when Bob and I go down to the greenhouse looking for annuals, if it’s just my imagination that the marigolds, pansies, petunias and impatiens all pull their stems back a little bit when I pass in front of their flats, as if to say, “Please don’t pick us.”

The thing is, I’m surrounded by a family of green thumbs. My mom and dad definitely keep plants and flowers, both indoors and out. My brother and sister-in-law built their own greenhouse where they have been featured by local news outlets for growing non-genetically modified organic produce. My husband’s Mom loves growing flowers and herbs and Bob’s sister is also a grower. So I typically just let them grow their veggies, fruit trees, plants, flowers and admire from afar. Occasionally when there are extras of the fruits of their labors that need to be used up, I unashamedly volunteer.

Recently though, my growing capabilities have experienced a breakthrough. A few weeks ago, my next-door-neighbor had re-potted her African violet. She had split some of it up because it was getting too large for its pot and decided to bring the newly re-planted “baby violet” to give to me. My immediate reaction was the same as every other time I’d received a plant as a gift. Thank you (smile sweetly) and inside my head… “I wonder how long before this one will make it to the garbage can.”

She unknowingly put her faith in me to take care of it, even when I told her I was a self-proclaimed plant killer. She put no pressure on me; saying, “If it makes it great, if not, no biggie.” So I thought I’d give it a shot. I read up about African violets and about how temperamental they can be. They like a lot of light and they like to be watered from the bottom. Seemed simple enough. So I put it on an end table by a window on the back of our house which gets the most sun, watered and waited. For the first couple days the leaves seemed to curl in and droop downward, but once I got the hang of watering it, it seemed to be doing unusually well. One day, a couple of weeks later, my friend who had given it to me stopped back over and exclaimed, “That thing was half dead when I brought it to you and now it’s blooming!” I was so excited! I had actually kept this plant alive for two whole weeks and now I kind of felt I was in a groove with watering it. Maybe I could do this. We joked back and forth about it being our ” love fern” from the movie “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days” and  she left me promising I wouldn’t let our “love fern” die. We had a good laugh over that.

Today it’s been about five and a half weeks since I’ve had that little violet and it’s continuing to grow and bloom. In fact it’s just getting ready to bloom again which is why I included a picture of it here on the blog today. It’s a daily reminder to me that nothing is impossible with God. I mean, the very word impossible spells out just the opposite, IM POSSIBLE, so there we go. 🙂

Violet (2)

I was definitely a big doubter when I first began caring for this little plant, but with time and a little patience I not only kept it alive but also have it blooming. I guess I was a bit like Sarah in the story of Abraham. Genesis 18:14 tells us that when the three visitors came to see Sarah and Abraham and told them that Sarah was going to have a son even in her old age, Sarah laughed. Kinda like me with my violet, thinking that I’d never be able to keep the thing alive. But the visitors asked them, “Is anything too hard for the LORD? I will return to you at the appointed time next year and Sarah will have a son.” So it happened. Luke 1:37 tells us that “Nothing is impossible with God.” Who then are we to doubt that we can have the ability to bear a son, grow a violet, heal the deepest wounds, reach the seemingly unattainable? We must trust in God with all of the things in our life from the greatest to the least. You just might surprise yourself in what you can do with His help if you only believe.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Faith In The “Love Fern”

Leave a Reply

