Posted in Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Honing Our Senses

TODAY’S FORECAST: Listening

The last two weeks I have been fighting off a cold and a secondary sinus infection. My sinuses have been so blocked and swollen the last week or so that I’ve completely lost my sense of taste and smell. It doesn’t happen to me very often, but when it does, it’s so aggravating. You blow and blow and blow your nose and sit down to eat a meal (after thoroughly washing your hands, of course), and put a bite in your mouth just hoping for a little taste of what you’re eating. You discreetly sniffle a little this way and a little that way, hoping that by some small miracle, something will open up so your taste buds can pick up on whatever it is you’re spooning into your mouth. Every once and awhile you’ll get a bit of a hit and will be able to taste a hint of salty or sweet and then BAM! it’s gone again with just another swallow. I hate this!!!! It’s like a part of me is truly missing. I’m not functioning wholly and my mind knows it. It is the most frustrating thing in the world, especially when you love food as much as I do!

Sometimes my relationship with God seems a little like this too. I go about my day-to-day and I get to a point where I don’t actively see or feel God’s presence in my life. I go to church or do a bible study hoping for just a little snippet of the right words that will inspire me again, and when I don’t get them, I get aggravated and impatient. Just like the loss of my sense of taste and smell during a cold, I know that something is acutely missing in my life, but then I struggle to get figure out how to get back “in close” with God when the little snippets aren’t working to my advantage.

This is the time when I’ve found it’s important to hone in on another sense, listening. Most times God is speaking in the midst of everything we do and until we look back on the events of our lives from a past perspective, we don’t even realize how much He’s doing there. I’m finding that when I think He’s missing from my life or not actively listening to me, these are the times when I need to be quiet, listening and praying. I need to pray that He will show me His goodness in every event and season of my life. I need to remember that it is not the snippets of inspiration that are so important, but the daily fellowship that I share with Him. Sometimes God speaks in whispers and only when we’re very quiet and listening for His voice in our lives will we discern His presence.

Today, while my sense of taste and smell is only slightly returning, I pray that I will feel His abounding gifts of love in my life. I ask that in the times when I don’t immediately sense His presence, that I’ll take time to be silent and really with Him in prayer. Let me ask, do you feel like you’re missing something today? Is it God’s presence? Whether it’s in your office, your car, your bedroom, during your bible study, while you’re fixing dinner, rocking a baby to sleep, waiting for your child from play or sports practice, take the time to listen for Him and pray you’ll hear His voice.

Isaiah 55:3- Give ear and come to me, listen that you may live.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Honing Our Senses

Leave a Reply

