Posted in Being a Mom, Faith, Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Womanhood

Lego or Larger?

TODAY’S FORECAST: Amazed

This past summer Bob and I took the kids on a trip to Chicago, IL. We visited all the usual tourist “hot spots” such as the skydeck in the Willis (formerly Sears) Tower, Shedd Aquarium, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile. Of all the sights we took in though, I think that one of the kids’ favorite attractions was Chicago’s LEGOLAND Discovery Center. DSC05614This mini version of LEGOLAND Florida and California features a Lego jungle expedition, life-size replicas of famous movie and television characters, mini replicas of the Chicago Skyline and other famous world landmarks like the Eiffel Tower and the Taj Mahal.  It also has Lego 3-D movies, rides, a kids recreation area and Lego creation center. There was definitely a lot to see and do during the few hours that we spent there.

I think that as the kids ran excitedly from one display to another, Bob and I were continually amazed at the sheer construction of each of the featured characters and landmarks. It was so remarkable how thousands of tiny Legos had been placed so perfectly together to create the life-size and larger replicas. I tried to imagine how satisfied the builders must have been when they witnessed their finished products and saw the perfect images of  Albert Einstein, Harry Potter, Darth Vader and R2-D2 staring back at them. DSC05658

I wonder if when God finished creating Adam if He felt the same sense of wonder in knowing how perfectly His creation had come together. Did He contemplate how each living cell had been uniquely displayed, how each functioning organ was placed precisely within the skeleton, how intricate were the workings of vessels, veins, muscles, ligaments and tendons? It’s almost a bit sad to me that I can go to a place like a Lego Discovery Center and marvel at the placing of plastic blocks to create perfect characters, but every day I am walking around in a body that I often don’t think twice about or even look at sometimes in disdain.

Today as I reflect on life in my prayers, I want to thank God for the miracle of our being. He made us in His image resulting in an absolutely mesmerizing and complex reflection of self. Psalm 139:14 comes to mind, I praise You for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

Lord, today I thank you for the miracle of my being. I know that when You crafted me, You did so knowingly and lovingly. You created my DNA that dictated exactly who I am and I celebrate that today. When I think about doing things that are unhealthy or detrimental to this body, let me remember that You, Father created me for a purpose and in Your image. My goal should not be destruction or self-deprecation, but respect and self-esteem for a creation so blessed. Thank you Lord for making me, me. Amen.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

Leave a Reply

