Posted in Being a Mom, Being a Wife, Faith, Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Love Notes for Kids

TODAY’S FORECAST: In love with my kids 🙂

One of my best friends puts a joke in her kids’ lunches every day. I think that is so cute. Her kids love jokes, she loves her kids and putting jokes in their lunch is the perfect way to tell them, “Hey, I’m thinking of you, knew you’d love this, and by the way, I love you.” Brilliant.

I’m also a firm believer in writing “love notes” to my kids. Today, it was in the form of a letter that I wrote to Meghan after she asked some tough questions last evening about the state of my health and whether or not I was “ever going to get better.” Heart-breaking, but I’ll leave that for another post. Today, I wrote the letter and set it on her bed so that she’ll see it when she comes home from school. Not only do I hope that it will re-emphasize the important points of our conversation last evening, but also that it will reaffirm that no matter what happens, she will always have my love and God’s. A letter is a tangible memoir for my girl who sentimentally keeps everything; and it’s special because it’s private, something between just her and I.post it note

I can write a letter like that to Meghan, but with Jacob, being seven and much like his Daddy, he wants to get straight to the point in the briefest way possible. He’s definitely my post-it-note kid. I write my love notes to him on a post-it and stick it up on his dresser, on his closet door, on his pillow or in his lunch. It might be just an “I love you, Jake! Love, Mom” or it may contain a brief memory bible verse about something he’s struggling with and an encouraging note telling him, “I know you’ll do better next time, buddy!”

The thing is, you can express all kinds of sentiments in written love notes to your kids. Tell them a joke to make them laugh, give them a conversation starter for the dinner table or for a 1:1 chat, thank them for a job well done, compliment them, wish them luck, tell them that you’re sorry (it’s good for them to recognize that you also can make mistakes), tell them that you love them, tell them how Jesus loves them and share His word. Do it in a letter, a post-it, a paper airplane, a piece of tape on a baggie in their lunch. Heck, you could do it in shaving cream on their bathroom mirror! Anything outside their “norm” will get their attention and let them know that you’re thinking of them and they will be grateful that you took the time to make them feel extra special.

Oh did I mention this works for spouses too? 😉

Okay, a challenge for all of you. Tomorrow, write a love note to someone who is close to you. While you’re writing it, remember that God wrote us the ultimate “love note” when He gave us the gift of His Son. God bless and easy breathing!

 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. ~John 3:16~

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Love Notes for Kids

  1. I think it’s “occasion,” but that’s just the perfectionist in me shouting out. Ignore it. 😉 Just followed your blog, Scott. Thanks for reading mine. Sounds like we both have special kiddos in our lives. 🙂

Leave a Reply

