Posted in Being a Mom, Being a Wife, Dealing with Trials, Faith, Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized

“Long Way Home”

TODAY’S FORECAST: Encouraged

Today as Bob and Jacob were home with the start of bad colds and feeling much less than 100%, and our new heater started blinking some undetectable code of yellow lights at us and refused to come on, I began to feel a little discouraged. Questions such as, “Are we EVER going to get over this stretch of sickness in our house?” and “Did we really need one more thing with the heat going on the fritz in such cold weather?” started to plague my mind. Then as I was making lunch this afternoon I heard one of my favorite songs playing on the local Christian radio station. It’s by Steven Curtis Chapman and I’ve included both the video link and the lyrics for you below. Maybe in your own life situations this song will be a source of encouragement as it was to me today. It’s a good reminder that though the journey sometimes may be tougher than we anticipated, it’s the destination we need to keep in mind and to remember that we’re not alone in getting there. Sometimes God speaks to us in wonderful and unique ways, even through song. God Bless and Easy Breathing!

 

http://youtu.be/l1p-QfgkLow

“Long Way Home” by Steven Curtis Chapman

I set out on a great adventure
The day my Father started leading me home
He said there’s gonna be some mountains to climb
And some valleys we’re gonna go through
But I had no way of knowing
Just how hard this journey could be
Cause the valleys are deeper
And the mountains are steeper than I ever would have dreamed
But I know we’re gonna make it
And I know we’re gonna get there soon
And I know sometimes it feels like we’re going the wrong way
But it’s just the long way home
I got some rocks in my shoes
Fears I wish I could lose
That make the mountains so hard to climb
And my heart gets so heavy with the weight of the world sometimes
There’s a bag of regrets,
My should’ve beens, and not yets
I keep on dragging around
And I can hardly wait for the day I get to lay them all down
I know that day is coming
I know its gonna be here soon
And I won’t turn back even if the whole world says I’m going the wrong way
Cause its just the long way home
When we can’t take another step
The Father will pick us up and carry us in His arms
And even on the best days,
He says to remember we’re not home yet
So don’t get too comfortable
Cause really all we are is just pilgrims passing through
Well, I know we’re gonna make it
And I know we’re gonna get there soon
So I keep on singing and believing
What all of my songs say
Cause our God has made a promise
And I know that everything He says is true
And I know wherever we go He will never leave us
Cause He’s gonna lead us home
Every single step of the long way home
(Keep going, we’re gonna make it)
(I know, we’re gonna make it)
(We’re just taking the long way home)
(Keep going, we’re gonna make it)
(I know, we’re gonna make it)
(We’re just taking the long way home)
(Keep going, we’re gonna make it)
(I know, we’re gonna make it)
(We’re just taking the long way home)
(Keep going, we’re gonna make it)
(I know, we’re gonna make it)
It’s just a long way home
Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on ““Long Way Home”

  1. Great song, Jen! Today, as discouraged as I was, still congested, hating my job, and overall feeling like a failure in my household (what with the constant bickering, stress, and tension), I reminded myself of my current Lenten studies, and realized God is with me and I need to focus on him to get me through this day….and you know what, it turned out to be a pretty darned good day! I just calmed myself, focused in the most pressing tasks FOR MY FAMILY, and God was carrying me through it all. We saw Steven Curtis Chapman last year in concert, with Josh ??? and Andrew Peterson. Wow, it was fantastic…I had not known about the tragedy his family faced, but wow, God got them through too. I got to meet his two sons when their band, Caleb, played at our church, opening for Andrew Peterson. They were amazing. I could share a lot more about it, but will do so in person (and I’ll share the CDs with you too). LOVE YOU WOMAN! Thanks for always being a constant source of inspiration and for sharing your hope in God’s never-ending love and light!!!

  2. Nat, thanks for the comment and I’m glad that day of yours got better. We can all use a little light and inspiration right now can’t we? Have you read Steven’s wife, Mary Beth’s book “Choosing to See” about their tragedy? I read it this past summer and it was AMAZING. It brought “For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord…” into a whole new light. I love Steven’s music. Bob and I bought his Christmas album together as the the first new Christmas CD that we owned together as a couple. It’s amazing. He’s an amazing musician. Love you so and remember God does too!!!

Leave a Reply

