Posted in Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Womanhood

Love or Judge?

TODAY’S FORECAST: Passionate

I guess it really is no secret that I live my life out loud or that I’m a details kind of girl. 🙂 Through my blog, on Facebook and Twitter, in personal conversation, I am an expressive person who enjoys sharing information. I honestly think it’s my coping mechanism. I just need to get it all out there sometimes; it helps me to keep moving. Over the years, being communicative and demonstrative has served me well on numerous occasions. I have been credited with being passionate, personable, social, warm, extrovertedbubbly and “larger than life”. At other times it has gotten me into trouble, conjuring words like show-off, gossipdrama queen and attention-seeker. Very honestly, there are days the latter have been on target. They are not my proudest days by any stretch, but definitely part of my very “real” journey and I would be lying if I said otherwise.

I guess that despite my own shortcomings, it still continues to amaze me how people’s perceptions, including my own, can be so critical. Over and over, even in communities that are typically very supportive of their members, I’ve seen wayward perception lead people to pass judgement on others. One person shares something, someone interprets it, opinions are formed and shared, people take offense and get on the defensive, others jump on board and sometimes it’s World War 3 in the making. It’s all a part of human nature, I know; but it still surprises me how terribly ugly people can get. The fact of the matter is, we don’t totally know anyone’s journey, except our own. I can seemingly tell you every detail of my life and you still don’t know my exact story, just as I don’t know yours.

I think a similar principle of thinking applies to a person’s faith walk. I have had people very openly criticize me and even unsubscribe to the blog because they don’t like what I shared. I have had people say, “You say you are a Christian but then you do A, B and C (as appears [insert appropriate selection,] in life, on Facebook, with family, as a friend ).” They are exactly right, I’m not perfect. I never claimed to be, in fact, just the opposite. I am not always kind, I do misjudge sometimes, I am a person after all. God knows that because He created me. I became a new person when I gave my life to Him, but that doesn’t mean I am “Grade A guaranteed”. If I tried to be, then my efforts would be in vain, because I cannot get there and never will. My sharing is about the relationship I’m developing with God, rather than the acts. I will continue to share my faith, talk about God and what He’s doing in my life as part of this blog. I hope that my relationship spills over lots of “good behavior” into my life, for lack of  better terminology. I will share the highs and the lows because it’s me — it’s what I do. I will also continue to share the details of my life elsewhere and do it honestly. If my failings come to light, then I’ll have to take the heat for those. My choice, my acceptance of the consequences.

I will say in plea, please be kind to one another. We all have our downfalls, our failings, the things we don’t want people to see or know about us. When we see these things shared about anyone, whether it be in the media or in person, we can choose to be kind, and we should be. One of my dear friends and spiritual advisors, Pastor Joe Coffey says something to the effect of “You are more deeply flawed that you’d ever want to admit to anyone, but more deeply loved than you ever dared to dream.” Definitely. It’s our nature to judge, both yours and mine. Let’s not forget who the real judge is, though. And as the Beatles said, “All you need is love.” 🙂

God Bless and Easy Breathing friends.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Love or Judge?

  1. That blogged nailed it! I’m so excited to see
    that you wrote about me under the guise of yourself this time ;). Ah, how much I am like you my friend, I can relate. And what a compliment being anything like you is to me :). Thank you ❤

Leave a Reply

