Posted in Being a Friend, Being a Mom, Being a Wife, Faith, Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized, Womanhood

Trimming the Fat

TODAY’S FORECAST: Fatty

Last evening I was making chicken fried rice for dinner. As I was chopping up the chicken breasts to include in the meal, I was randomly going through the chicken pieces making sure to trim any excess fat or get rid of any pieces that were really fatty. I had set a couple of “bad pieces” aside on the cutting board to discard, but then ended up getting distracted with something the kids needed, came back to the cutting board and proceeded to put all of its contents into the drizzle of olive oil I had heating on the stove. As they began cooking, I remembered that two of the pieces had been “bad” and that I needed to take them out and get rid of them. I located the first quite easily and removed it, but the other had been an “iffy” piece to begin with, mostly chicken but had some fat on it that I probably just could have trimmed. Finally, I located it as I flipped the cooking pieces over and I realized, hey, that piece really was a “good” piece. It might have used a little trimming, but I decided in an instant, “Nah, it’s good,” and it remained.

That little piece of chicken got me thinking, the “iffy”one. I’m a little bit like that piece of chicken too. In my eyes, I’m mostly good, but I still have some “excess fat,” if you will. I sometimes think, if I could only trim off that “fat” I would be the perfect Mom, the perfect wife, the perfect daughter, the perfect friend, the perfect Christian. That’s all wrong though. You see, God is really the Master Chef, not me. Through the redemptive sacrifice of His Son, He was able to single me out and make the decision to let me stay, fat and all, in the master recipe. He didn’t try to trim my fat, no. He knew that my excess would not be perfect, but that I would fit into His recipe; simply because He called, and I said yes.  God knew that because of my humanness, my fat would just be there, but that was not what made me worth or not worth keeping. Just like I made the decision to keep my piece of chicken in the pan for our dinner, God made the decision to keep me as well, fat and all. [insert “Thank You Jesus!”]

I currently am reading a book called Grace Walk by Steve McVey. If you get the chance, it’s an absolutely excellent read. In it, Steve discusses how he tries to trim his own “excess fat” in order to be a better Christian, to be more worthy and how he fails… miserably. God is the Master Chef. He is the only one who knows exactly how His master recipe is to be executed. I’m seeing that until I understand this, until I come to Him just as I am, with none of my own plans on how “we” can use my “excess” to teach, to mold, to better flavor, He cannot complete His perfect meal.

Have you turned your “fat” over to God? Do you want to be part of His master recipe? Think about it, mull over it, “chew the fat.” 😉

Yet you Lord are our father. We are the clay You are the potter; we are all the work of Your hand. ~Isaiah 64:8~

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

11 thoughts on “Trimming the Fat

  1. This is an excellent illustration! As you can probably tell I love reading those that make me think of Biblical principles and this is so well done.

    I just got on to thank you for following my blog and decided, on the spot, that I had to keep up with yours as well. I can’t wait to see and read additional posts! I’m so happy to have “met” you. I hope you’ll feel comfortable joining in on some of the discussions my followers enjoy, because they quickly become friends across the miles. Thanks again.

    1. Ellie, I am so excited to be following your blog. Found it on a whim when you liked a post (Thank You!) and started reading. I love the style, love the God-honoring posts and definitely the variety. Looking so forward to being a part of your readers’ network and glad to “meet you as well.”

      Also, thanks for your kind comments on today’s post. I like analogies and hope that they will make sense to someone other than me. Thanks for following me!!! God Bless!

    1. Definitely no whim! LOL It is people like you with blogs like yours who help me grow in my faith walk every day. Just for the record, I LOVE mistakes! 🙂 Apparently so does God because as you know, He invests in lots of people who have made them, especially me!!! Love that quote, how grateful I am as well.

    1. This is an absolutely wonderful article. Thank you for sharing. I honestly was reading in and going, hey, that’s me throughout the whole thing!!!! Today was the perfect example of the fear which I’m getting ready to talk about in today’s post. Thank you so much for sharing!!!

    1. Heather, I apologize, I know several Heathers and contacted each of them today inquiring if they wrote since there’s no identifying information showing for you. If you’d like to send me your email at the email address link on my About page, I will happily respond. Love the article you shared. Thank you for visiting the blog.

Leave a Reply

