Posted in Faith, Inspiration, Life with CF, Uncategorized, Womanhood

Cut, colored, coiffed and saved

Hello all! Yes, I am alive and no, I haven’t stopped writing! I’m SO SORRY if I caused any worry. I was having some major IT issues that were not allowing me to post any new posts to my blog. It’s been a frustrating and tedious few days of phonecalls and fixes, but I think we’re back in business. I hope you all had a good end of last week and for those of you in the U.S., I hope you all have a wondererful Thanksgiving week!!!

TRULY THANKFUL FOR: Salon Days

Last week I had a scheduled appointment at the hair salon. Admittedly, “salon days” are definitely some of my favorite days. There is just something about a fresh haircut or hair color that totally lifts my mood. I guess it could have to do with the fact that I go in looking like something the cat drug in and coming out two hours later feeling like a supermodel.  Or maybe it has to do with the way they wait on me hand and foot while I’m there, “Can I get you a glass of wine or a cup of coffee?” “Would you like a magazine?” “Are you comfortable?” I often tease my stylist that I think they put serotonin in the water she’s washing my hair with, because the minute she starts scrubbing I think I’m in heaven! 🙂

The day I went in for my appointment last week, I REALLY needed the lift. After almost three weeks of IV meds and all kinds of oral meds that were wreaking havoc on my emotional as well as my physical being, I was in desperate need of a “pick-me-up.” Besides the usual pallor that comes with sickness, my hair and eyebrows were looking like something from an episode of Extreme Makeover gone desperately wrong. You get the point, went in a mess, came out looking prettier and feeling renewed and relaxed.

I decided that going to the salon is a little like seeking God’s grace. We go in all a mess with our hearts full of sin and then we come out washed by salvation. We look and feel a fright, and then He smiles on us and we stand refreshed, renewed, forgiven and loved. Just like the people at the salon who ask me about my needs for refreshment, for comfort, for pleasure, God’s Son performed the ultimate service so that we might all might come out better on the other side. As we enter this holiday season, let us remember what the true meaning of the season is, the birth of grace. Let it wash over each of us and may we come out in the New Year renewed, relaxed and joyous.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Cut, colored, coiffed and saved

  1. This is SO TRUE in every way, Jen! I LOVE the analogy and need to keep getting ‘refreshed’ myself….so thank you for the reminder!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

