Posted in Faith, Family, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Are you hearing me?

TRULY THANKFUL FOR: Technology

Okay, okay, I’ll admit it, I love my iPhone. When we first brought it home a few months back, I was more than just a little bit excited about the upgrade. Bob thought I was worse than one of the kids with a new toy, but I just couldn’t help it. With all its bells and whistles, the iPhone was a far cry from my clunky, old cell phone, especially with all the free apps that did everything from helping me coordinate my grocery list to forecasting my mood. Besides being an iPod and a cell phone in one, it had some seriously cool features. One of my favorites was Siri.

For those of you not familiar with Siri, she is Apple’s voice-activated personal assistant. She can call contacts, type texts and emails, give directions, play music from your iTunes playlists, tell you where the nearest coffee shop is, search the Internet, etc. She recognizes conversational phrases like “please” and “thank you” and will even comment on your opinions. One evening my kids had great fun telling Siri how much they loved her and she made comments back to them like, “Well, you’re certainly entitled to that opinion,” “Flatterer” and “Sorry, Jen, it’s not meant to be.” We all had a good laugh over that.

While Siri can be very amusing, she can also be quite frustrating at times. Being voice-activated, there are times when there is background noise that distorts your input or she looks for the literal translation of certain phrases that causes her to misinterpret what you’re asking for. No matter how clearly you try to communicate, she still doesn’t quite get it right. Once or twice I’ve even slammed down my phone in complete frustration because it’s obvious she just isn’t going to give me just what I want.

Today I was thinking that sometimes (ashamedly) I treat God a little like Siri. I continually spout off my demands for health, healing, happiness, financial security, guidance and get frustrated when He doesn’t deliver or respond the way I want Him to. Not unlike the demands I make on my iPhone cohort, when I suspect that God doesn’t hear me clearly, I get angry and accuse Him of completely abandoning me in my time of need. Oh how selfish and ungrateful I must seem. How is it that I am willing to put my faith in a technological personality on an iPhone, but then doubt that the almighty God who created me can and will hear my needs and deliver on them in His time?

Father, today, I ask that you forgive me for doubting Your infinite wisdom and love. In times where I think You are not hearing me, grant me patience and help me to realize You know better than I. When I don’t understand your response or what I perceive to be the lack thereof, help me to put my total trust in You. Help me to realize my needs never fall on deaf ears and that You are always near. Help me to be satisfied with what You provide.  I ask this and all things in Your name, Amen.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on “Are you hearing me?

  1. I always took a little bit of joy in the fact Siri wouldn’t work for a certain someone who you and I both dealt with a couple years ago because she couldn’t recognize her British accent. : )

Leave a Reply

