Posted in Dealing with Trials, Faith, Inspiration, Life with CF, Uncategorized

Dissolving the bitterness of life

TODAY’S FORECAST: Looking for the positive

Today was one of those days. I’ve been battling some stomach issues since late Wednesday afternoon and sat in the Emergency Room for 6 hours today while they tried to pinpoint what the problem was. They didn’t. Now it’s off to the GI doctor on Monday and Cystic Fibrosis clinic Tuesday still in pain, with nothing more to show than a CD with the results of my abdominal CT scan and a copy of my bloodwork. So let’s see, taking my own advice, let’s find some positives. 1). The ER staff was very nice. 2.) My very proficient nurse accessed my port with no trouble and got a beautiful blood return.  3.) Our wonderful neighbors took our kids so they didn’t have to sit with us in the ER all day. 4.) Warm blankets are the best! 🙂 5.) I finally got some solid catch-up sleep. 6). My patient  hubby sat with me all day (even if he did watch football on the hopsital TV set) 😉 7.) The Buckeyes won — WAHOO!  8.) I didn’t get admitted. 9.) My son came and kissed me so softly on the cheek when I was resting at home and he didn’t know I was awake. Awww. 10.) I found this story. While it’s not my own (I’ve seen it shared on multiple blogs), I think you will enjoy it because it absolutely changed my attitude this afternoon. Love you all!

Dissolving the Bitterness of Life

Once a young man came to a revered teacher, who was seated under a tree near a beautiful lake, and asked for the solution for his unhappiness. After some minutes of conversation the old master kindly instructed the visitor to put a handful of salt in a glass of water and then to drink a few mouthfuls.

“How does it taste?” the teacher asked. “Awful,” said the apprentice after he had spat out the revolting liquid a few paces away. The teacher chuckled and then asked the young man to take another handful of salt and put it in the lake. The two walked in silence to the nearby lake and when the youngster swirled his handful of salt into the lake, the old man told him, “Now drink from the lake.”

As the water dripped down the young man’s chin, the master asked him again, “How does it taste?” “Good!” he replied. “Do you taste the salt?” asked the Master. “No,” said the young man. The Master sat beside the troubled youth, took his hands, and said,

“The pain of life is pure salt; no more, no less. The amount of pain in life remains the same, exactly the same. But the level of ‘pain we taste’ depends on the container we put it into. So when you are in pain, the only thing you can do is to enlarge your sense of things. Stop being a glass. Become a lake.

And you can become a lake where you broaden your outlook; when you stop looking only at yourself and your own miseries. Look at life as a whole and the many things without which you would not be what you are today – your friends, family, hobbies, nature around you.

When you are confronted with a problem, you see only the problem and ruminate over it endlessly which only makes the situation more tragic. Think of previous instances when things were better. Look at all the blessings that God has filled your life with about which you never give a thought.

Never compare yourself negatively with others. You are a unique person and if you have the faith, God will provide what you need. When you have a pain in your life, put it in front of GOD – then it will surely lessen. Do not put it in front of yourself – as you cannot see beyond it.

God is Infinite. Tap this source, with confidence.

The young man left, and his viewpoint on his problems had totally changed. As the saying goes:

Tell your problems how big your God Is.

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

8 thoughts on “Dissolving the bitterness of life

  1. Jennifer, I am sorry you had such a rough day with your stomach. If I could take it away I would, but as you and I both know God doesn’t work that way. So just know that when you take this part of your illness to God today that He will understand because it fits into His plan He has for you which is only for your good. How I love you. Mom

  2. I am sorry for your suffering, Jen. As always, you share your journey in an authentic way; shining a light of what it means to be fully human. I love that about your writing. Thank you for re-posting the story. I will remember it when I am walking around the lake this morning. Sending you love and goodwill this day.

  3. Thanks for the story, had not heard that before but will forever remember it. Hope you can rest and get comfort today and yes those Buckeyes were awesome!

Leave a Reply

