Posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized

Smile!

TODAY’S FORECAST: 🙂

The Smile Virus 

~Author Unknown~

Smiling is infectious,

you catch it like the flu,

When someone smiled at me today,

I started smiling too.

I passed around the corner

and someone saw my grin

When he smiled I realized

I’d passed it on to him.

I thought about that smile

then I realized its worth,

A single smile, just like mine

could travel round the earth.

So, if you feel a smile begin,

don’t leave it undetected

Let’s start an epidemic quick,

and get the world infected!

 

Most of you probably would not be quick to argue that we live in a “do it yourself” society. On every bookshelf of every library or bookstore you can find a “how-to” guide walking you through steps for completing most any project. On YouTube you can find a plethora of how-to videos covering topics such as how to fix your credit, how to run properly or how to repair a leaky faucet. Even Wikipedia has gotten on board with its online wikiHow manual that boasts of a collaboration of almost 150,000 how-to articles. So I guess I should not have been at all surprised when I actually came across a How to Smile article; but surprised I was, shocked in fact. In this particular piece, the author includes a seven-step how-to that includes pictures. Really, we actually need a how-to guide on how to smile? What a sad world we live in (literally) if we require an editorial telling us how to do something that should be as natural as breathing.

What ever happened to old-fashioned happiness inducers, like a child’s laughter, reeling in the big catch, stopping off for ice cream or sharing a long-standing family joke? Are you meaning to tell me that we’ve gotten so commercialized that we actually need a how-to manual to tell us what makes us happy and how we should respond to that happiness? Hey, I know life can be a downer. To borrow a phrase from a fellow blogger, Josh Mogren, “Life isn’t always duckies and bunnies.” Look around though. There are reasons to smile EVERYWHERE! Put your hand in a child’s, sing your favorite song aloud, make a funny face in the mirror, send an anonymous “I love you” note to your spouse, significant other or friend. Watch a sunset, rent a funny movie. Oops, I’d better stop there, I think I’m beginning to write my own little “how-to!”

Seriously though, like the poem says, let’s get the world infected, ready here I go…. 🙂  …… now it’s your turn!

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

4 thoughts on “Smile!

  1. Yesterday afternoon I was in my bedroom folding up laundry and I heard the kids next door. Their back yard is under my bedroom window. They were laughing and squealing with such delight that I had to see what was going on, so I pulled back the curtain and saw that someone had raked the fallen autumn leaves into a large pile in the middle of the back yard. The kids were rolling around and throwing the leaves up in the air and on each other. Mom and dad were sitting on the deck cheering them on. It brought a huge smile to my face and a warm memory to my heart–I remember playing in the leaves like that when I was little and it was pure joy. Thanks for a thoughtful piece, Jen. Hugs and love to you this day.

    1. Stephanie, glad you found a “smile” moment. I too remember jumping in leaves as a kid and watching my kids do so as well. Yep, it made me smile too! Thanks for sharing your moment. Love to you.

  2. Pingback: Smile « camgal

Leave a Reply

