Posted in Faith, Inspiration, Life with CF, Uncategorized

Batting 1000

TODAY’S FORECAST: Thankful

I got an email yesterday from a reader who will remain anonymous on the blog, but who has kindly allowed me to share one of his comments that he sent to me personally.

Jennifer, just a personal observation so feel free to take it or leave it. I really like the raw, emotional, jagged content you write. Not that I’m suggesting that all the things you write aren’t emotion-inducing, but sometimes when you genuinely, emotionally commit to a topic, it definitely shows…Keep up the great work, love the blog so far. You are batting 1000!

During the remainder of the email, he went on to point out some of his favorite posts and why they were his favorites, as well as some that just didn’t resonate with him personally.

I have to say I was both impressed and humbled. I was impressed because I absolutely loved the honesty and sincerity of his feedback, and I truly hope I get more of it, from all of you! It was well-written, very constructive and timely. I was humbled because I appreciated the fact that he took the time to not only make my blog part of his day, but also to write me with specific feedback that he felt would make it more sound. This is not one of my family members or close friends; it is a follower I picked up upon “liking” a comment on another blogger’s post — a perfect stranger, if you will, at least until now. 🙂 I am so proud that I am attracting this kind of readership, from people who are comfortable offering their personal opinions of what makes this blog work or not work for them, but who are also open enough to appreciate that I need to tell my story, in my own way.

Today, I just want to tell you all how thankful I am for those of you who are still reading and sharing my posts. We’re literally “batting 1000” at over 1,000 hits, with readership all over the world! ! I am very grateful and thankful for this audience. The original reasons for starting the blog were purely selfish, to tell my story and raise CF awareness, share my faith and to not have to pay a therapist (Gotcha, with that last one, didn’t I? ;-)), but it has very quickly become so much more. I am so honored that you each of you is continuing to find something to read here. I can’t always promise “jagged and raw,” but I will try to be genuine and God-honoring. While I accept that I won’t always have the perfect post or the next inspirational revelation of the century, I am truly grateful for your readership, your feedback and support. God Bless you all and thanks so much for reading. Stay with me, won’t you? 🙂

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

5 thoughts on “Batting 1000

  1. What an amazing example this person sets by taking the time to give you feedback and support that inspires! We all have something to learn from reading different writers and seeing how they do their blogs. . .I have a little group that I follow and it helps me to see what works and where I need to improve; but moreover it gives me a sense of belonging to a group of kindred cyber spirits that keeps me hitting the publish button. You do share yourself in a way that underscores our human-ness and gives permission to write the raw, less than polite, jagged edges of real human life. I appreciate you, your enviable “style” and I appreciate the person that sent you the feedback. Way to go, batting a 1,000! Big hugs.

    1. Stephanie, I appreciate this post and your blog more than you know. Having a bit of a bad flare-up this evening so let me respond to this when I can actually give you a “proper” response. Hugs

    2. Stephanie, forgive me for my brief comments last night. After today’s post you’ll know why! 🙂 First of all, I totally agree with you that my friend, was a “model” poster, and I wish everyone would take the time to be so kind and thoughtful. I think we all need a little honest and encouraging feedback from time to time, heck I’d take it every day if I could get it, ha! Secondly, your blog is phenomenal, one of my favorites. I can identify with your writing and you have a way of explaining your feelings and experiences that keeps me going back for more. I’m glad we have the opportunity to become cyber buddies, and I hope that I too can be a source of encouragement for you. I don’t hit an “email follow button” lightly and yours was a no-brainer. I mean that.

      I think it’s funny that after getting such wonderful feedback about my blog the night before, it was all I could do to do to keep some people from laughing over my celebrating 1,000 hits. While I appreciate the honesty, another commenter remarked just yesterday (and I saw it this morning) “you realize that 1,000 hits is nothing, that some bloggers get that many in a single post.” Those kinds of comments keep me in check, but make me constantly reevaluate who and what I’m writing for. I guess while everyone of us bloggers secretly hopes the like button will be clicked; yet, it’s so much more than that for me. And even though you have the followers and the likers that you do, I highly suspect it is some of the same for you. Keep writing, I love it. Hugs, and thanks for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

