Posted in Dealing with Trials, Faith, Inspiration, Life with CF, Uncategorized

“Fly”

TODAY’S FORECAST: Hungry (yes, as my stomach is growling and the soup I have in the crockpot is beginning to smell pretty good! :-))

I’m going to tell you all a deep, dark secret today, but you have to promise not to laugh. Do you promise? Not that I’d know if you broke your promise, but still, just humor me and say you’ll hold in your giggles until you’re done reading, okay?

Here goes….

I am a Celine Dion fan.

Stop smirking and wipe that silly grin off your face; I can feel it all the way over here! 🙂 Yes, I know she’s been the butt of jokes and fodder for SNL skits with her large family and cradle-robbing husband/manager, but I can’t help myself. I still love her music. It is familiar and healing to me, not to mention Grammy award-winning, so no one should bother to try to convince me otherwise. Don’t go recommending a support group, either!!! 😉

How can you argue that she didn’t make movies like Beauty and the Beast, Up Close and Personal and Titantic stick in the hearts of many with her amazing vocal ranges and heart-warming lyrics? Those movies would not have been the same had they not had that touch of musical genius behind them, just ask their directors and producers.

The thing is, even if you can’t appreciate this balladeer queen for her musical talents, there is something else you should know about her that many do not. Celine is a HUGE supporter of the fight against Cystic Fibrosis. Her efforts and contributions in finding a cure for CF have been legendary. Celine’s niece, Karine, died of CF at the young age of 16. They were very close; in fact, Karine died in Celine’s arms which she comments on in this video clip for anyone who wants to watch it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kDX8i5elwrk

While I love of all Celine’s music, one of her songs has touched me so deeply; it brings me to tears to this day. It was written in honor of her beloved niece, Karine, who battled so hard with CF. It captures the essence of loss and letting go in a raw and emotional way. It’s called “Fly,” and today, I dedicate it to all my friends who battle CF. May you stay strong in your fight and may we soon find a cure for this life-robbing disease.

I’ve listed the lyrics to the song below, but I would really recommend watching the video because in it, you can hear the absolute raw emotion and love. Plus, some of the images are amazing. Watch it here on YouTube: http://youtu.be/c7-RqnNwxzg

Fly

Fly, fly little wing
Fly beyond imagining
The softest cloud, the whitest dove
Upon the wind of heaven’s love
Past the planets and the stars
Leave this lonely world of ours
Escape the sorrow and the pain
And fly again

Fly, fly precious one
Your endless journey has begun
Take your gentle happiness
Far too beautiful for this
Cross over to the other shore
There is peace forevermore
But hold this mem’ry bittersweet
Until we meet

Fly, fly do not fear
Don’t waste a breath, don’t shed a tear
Your heart is pure, your soul is free
Be on your way, don’t wait for me
Above the universe you’ll climb
On beyond the hands of time
The moon will rise, the sun will set
But I won’t forget

Fly, fly little wing
Fly where only angels sing
Fly away, the time is right
Go now, find the light

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

4 thoughts on ““Fly”

Leave a Reply

