Posted in Being a Friend, Inspiration, Uncategorized

“Schwabbie” love

TODAY’S FORECAST: Full (as in my heart, not my stomach! ;-))

Today I met up with Bob at his workplace to participate in a health benefits fair. The employee health care plan is changing significantly as of the first of the year, so we went together to see how the changes will impact our family. With the open benefits enrollment period quickly approaching, like us, many people were stopping by to clarify details of the plans and ask specific questions. I saw many a familiar face and even had the pleasure of meeting some new people that Bob currently works with.

Going to Bob’s office is always a bit nostalgic, as there are so many good memories for me there. It’s the place where he and I met and fell in love. It’s the place where I figured out what career path I would officially take. It’s the place where I found the acknowledgement and reward that I craved in the form of accolades and company awards. It’s the place that I mentored and trained new employees and tried to make a difference. It’s the place where I officially earned the coveted title of “Manager.” It’s a place where I made friendships, good friendships that have spanned almost 15 years.

Remember the theme song from Cheers, “Sometimes you wanna go… where everybody knows your name…. and they’re always glad you came?” That’s EXACTLY how I felt today. As I walked the halls, stopping off here and there to chit-chat with folks, I was so touched at the welcoming reception from friends who I not only regularly keep in touch with, but also those I haven’t seen in several years. It was really a heartwarming experience. So many people greeted me with a hug and said, “Jen, it’s so good to see you!” “Hey Jen, are you coming back to work?”  “Hey stranger, I haven’t seen you in a while, how’s it going?” and the like. How nice it is to be remembered!

I think that there’s a part of every one of us that desires to be remembered so warmly. The problem is, sometimes we try too hard. If there’s one thing I’m learning in life, it’s that you if you invest in other people, you won’t have to try to make them remember, because the heart keeps better notes than the mind ever will. (Yep, that’s an original Jen Wuersig quote right there! :)) Dale Carnegie said it a bit more eloquently, “You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people than you can in two years by trying to get other people interested in you.”

I am so glad I got the opportunity to see so many people today. The visit was definitely good for my self-esteem, in fact, if you talked to Bob he would tell you too much so. LOL  In honor of all my “Schwabbie” friends near and far (and Cheers fans everywhere), this one’s for you! http://youtu.be/rS0VQOHX7lM

Love and blessings to you all!

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

2 thoughts on ““Schwabbie” love

Leave a Reply

