Posted in Faith, Inspiration, Uncategorized

Cleaning day

TODAY’s FORECAST: Content

Oh how I enjoy a clean house! I love the sight of sweeper marks in the carpet, the smell of cleaner in the air and the fact that everything is spotless and fingerprint free, even if it only lasts until the kids get home from school. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a neat freak by any stretch of the imagination. We battle the normal family clutter with books, shoes, school papers, shopping receipts, junk mail, sports equipment, electronics, etc. Add the library books, movies that have to go back to the video store, appointment reminders, a stray Lego or two and some days our kitchen island looks like a tornado hit it. It’s about the time when this “tornado” hits that I reach my limit and know it’s time for a good cleaning. I start giving everyone that look, the one that says “Pick up your stuff, if you know what’s good for you.” 😉

Today our good friend and cleaning lady came to the house to give it a good scrubbing. “Tina days” are some of my favorite days, not only because I get time to visit with her while she’s cleaning, but also when she’s done, the house looks and smells amazing. Today, the moment we said our goodbyes and exchanged hugs and good wishes until next time, I sank into my chair, looked around and let out an audible sigh of content.

I wonder if God also lets out a big “Aaaahhhhh” when we come to Him to ask for forgiveness and clean out the “clutter” of our lives. I wonder if He ever looks down at us and pulls out the Mr. Incredible line: “I feel like the maid; I just cleaned up this mess! Can we keep it clean for… for ten minutes?!”

Psalm 51:10 says, “Create in me a clean heart, O God; renew a right spirit within me.” Today, as you go about your day, try to identify and clear the “clutter” from your heart. Pride, envy, impatience, lust, anger, whatever it is, give it to God and let Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross wipe it clean. When it’s done, I can promise you too will sigh contentedly knowing all is right, even if it only lasts a little while. Wishing you all a spotless day! 🙂

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

3 thoughts on “Cleaning day

  1. Wonderful verse for the day, Jen! Love it!!! Our cleaning lady is named Tina too…and I feel the same as soon as she leaves, even though all the cleanliness is gone by the next day! Glad you’re feeling all cleaned out…I’m gonna get on that train right now! Blessings!

  2. Nat, thanks for reading and I’m glad you enjoyed the verse. I guess we can all use a little clean-up in our lives every now and then, at home and in our souls. Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

