Posted in Dealing with Trials, Life with CF

Living for today

TODAY’S FORECAST: FREE… (CLEARED TO DRIVE AGAIN AT MY SURGICAL CHECK-UP)

How many of you have seen the movie with Michelle Pfeiffer and Robert Redford called Up Close and Personal? It was released in the mid-90’s and is a great story about perseverance. Sally Ann ‘Tally’ Atwater (Michelle Pfeiffer) dreams of being a journalist and is mentored by Warren Justice (Robert Redford). Through a series of events, Tally reaches the national spotlight and she and Warren fall in love. Shortly after though, tragedy strikes and Tally’s world is changed forever.

Life is sometimes like Tally’s story. We persevere through hurdles in our lives just to get hit with another storm, and darn it, it is so frustrating! Then we get into this mindset of waiting for the next ball to drop instead of looking forward and being able to enjoy the blessings in our lives. I’ve gone through a bit of that the last couple years with my health. It seems like whenever we got over one new hurdle, another surfaced or maybe two or three. Whenever I would get a break, instead of looking for the positive; I’d be waiting for the next bad thing to happen because that was life as I knew it.

This past summer I had an extended break. I don’t know why or how, but my health stabilized to a point where I was feeling somewhat “normal” for a change. I wasn’t on IVs every two weeks, had managed to keep myself out of the hospital and while there were still challenges, I felt like I had reached a plateau. I had no surgeries scheduled until early fall and I was amazed at how one good day followed the next and so on. It was wonderful, and I’m so thankful Bob, the kids and I had that time to rest and recharge.

We went on vacation, a first in two years. I cooked dinners, went grocery shopping, had lunch with friends, unpacked our new house, went on school-shopping trips, hosted the kids’ friends for lunch and play dates, caught up with people I hadn’t seen, explored our new hometown – needless to say, it was a productive summer!

Still, in the back of my mind, there were days where I’d think, “Gee, things are going so well, when is the bottom going to drop out.” Then I came across this quote:

If you spend your whole life waiting for the storm, you’ll never enjoy the sunshine. – Morris West

It made me realize that I had so much to be thankful for in my life. I could live scared of the next catastrophe, or I could enjoy the blessings in the here and now. It is certainly easier said then done. There are still days I get so overwhelmed by life, but when I am, I think I am more cognizant now of getting back into the moment.

I’ll end today’s post  with a quote from two of my favorite fictional characters of all time. There is a simple lesson in their words, a pure and simple logic we should all subscribe to. If you’re going through a particular time of trial right now, take a deep breath. Then list all the blessings in your life. Until we get to heaven, there’s no day more perfect than today, so live it to the fullest.

“What day is it?”
“It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.
“My favorite day,” said Pooh.”
A.A. Milne

Author:

Christ-follower, wife, and mother of two living and succeeding with Cystic Fibrosis. Come check out my blog 100% Chance of CHANGE that follows my life's journey, one day at a time. Stories about life, raising kids, marriage and relationships, family, my CF struggles, faith and so much more!

Leave a Reply

